Democracy Weeks (Part 2): The La Verne Series

From February 4-8, I will be in California at the University of La Verne to deliver a set of lectures to masters students, doctoral students, and faculty on the subjects of doing civic engagement, researching civic engagement, and teaching civic engagement, respectively.

My prepared remarks to the masters students focus on both the values of citizenship and engagement, as well as the tools and pitfalls to successful implementation of a public participation process. Download the “Doing Civic Engagement” Lecture. Some of the images might not be intuitively interpreted; if you wish to learn more about my message, let me know.

In my lecture to doctoral students, I outline the wide array of theoretical and practical questions of interest to scholars and practitioners of civic engagement, democracy, and citizenship. From there, I review some of my own most recent research on costs of democratization, democracy bubbles, and collaborative civic engagement. Download the “Researching Civic Engagement” lecture.

Last, for the faculty, I discuss both teaching civic engagement and teaching citizenship and professional citizenship. These are related concepts but not necessarily the same. I provide examples from my large-scale and joined-up service learning initiatives, as well as from an online class on civic engagement, featuring the use of wiki, Facebook, Twitter, and Second Life. I close with design tips for both service learning and technology-facilitated classes. Download the “Teaching Civic Engagement” lecture.

 

Leave a Reply

